The Main Guard
Discover Ireland’s Ancient East with a visit to the Main Guard in Clonmel in County Tipperary. Built as a courthouse in 1675 by James Butler, Duke of Ormond, this beautiful building hosted King James II as he toured Ireland.
The Main Guard building was redeveloped around 1810 when the ground floor, consisting of a loggia (or gallery) of open arches, was converted into shops and additional floors were added in the basement. However, at the turn of the last century, The Main Guard won a Heritage Award for Best Practice in Conservation when it was expertly restored to its original form and its open arcade of sandstone columns is once again a feature of the Clonmel streetscape.
Admission is free to The Main Guard and the exhibitions it hosts.