The Main Guard

The Main Guard served as the courthouse for the Palatinate, or administrative area, of County Tipperary. In 1715 the Palatinate jurisdiction was extinguished.

The Main Guard

Discover Ireland's Ancient East with a visit to the Main Guard in Clonmel in County Tipperary.
James Butler, Duke of Ormond, built the Main Guard in 1675 and it served as the courthouse for the Palatinate, or administrative area, of County Tipperary. In 1715 the Palatinate jurisdiction was extinguished.
The ground floor, consisting of a loggia (or gallery) of open arches, was converted into shops and had additional floors added around 1810. The Main Guard, with its distinctive clock tower, has been recently restored to its original form. Almost ten years of painstaking restoration, which included incorporating stone from nearby Cistercian ruins resulted in a Heritage Award for Best Practice in Conservation in the Tipperary 2004 RIAI Awards.

Opening Hours
14th of April to 28th September from 9a.m to 5p.m
Please note this site may close at short notice. Visitors are advised to check ahead before visiting.
Closed on Mondays.

Last admission 4.15pm.
Restricted hours during closed season.

Average Length of Visit: 40 mins.

Admission Fees
Free

Facilities
Exhibitions, toilets, toilet for visitors with disabilities.

Car parking close to the site.

Restaurant/Tearooms: None

Location: 
Address: 
Sarsfield Street
Clonmel
Tipperary
Phone: 
+353 (52) 6127484
Category: